Inspired by Simplicity.

If I should sell both my forenoons and afternoons to society, as most appear to do, I am sure that for me there would be nothing left worth living for. I trust that I shall never thus sell my birthright for a mess of pottage. I wish to suggest that a man may be very industrious, and yet not spend his time well. There is no more fatal blunderer than he who consumes the greater part of his life getting his living.

Henry David Thoreau

 


Four long and cold wintery months have passed since I last wrote here. And what a winter it was! Dare I say, it was my favourite winter yet. Our family continued to spend time in nature, despite the cold weather. We embraced the pink cheeks and burning toes, and fell in love with the snow all over again. There is magic in every season. 

I’ve been soul searching this winter, on what to write about here. Writing has always been a creative outlet for me, ever since I was a child. I remember spending my school days scribbling notes and thoughts on papers, sometimes penning songs or poems, and then quickly tucking them under my book as the teacher came to check on the work we were doing. There never seemed to be enough time to write freely. There was always some more important work to do.  

Now as a homeschooling mother of three young children (and professional photographer on the weekends), there is even less time to write. Nonetheless, we must carve-out time for the things we love. And for me, one of those things is writing. 

Some time ago, I promised to write more about our homeschooling journey. And that is truly something I would love to share with you! I am asked quite often about the reasons why we homeschool, how long we plan on doing it, how we do it, where we do it… Curious minds want to know! I’m quite the question-asker myself, so I get it. ;) My mind is full to the brim with topics I’d love to share. And sometimes when there is so much to share, it’s hard to know where to start! So, let me start by re-introducing myself. 


 My name is Krista. I’m a 29-year-old mother of three. Professional lifestyle photographer. Nature enthusiast. Thinker. Writer. Library regular. Aspiring minimalist. Cloth diaperer. Home educator. Gardener with no green thumb. Stargazer. Bird watcher. Country person. Artsy. Self-taught guitarist. Traveler. Wanderer. Wannabe vegetarian. Happy camper. Storyteller. Dreamer. Wildflower picker. Forest walker. Lifelong learner. Living simply.  

 I believe in slow living. Spending quality, intentional time with family. Nourishing our bodies with whole foods. Interest led learning. Taking time to do the things we love. Being in nature as much as possible. Enjoying life. Loving others. And being good to the earth. 

Some of my most vivid childhood memories take place in nature. I spent every summer of my childhood living up at the cottage on the lake with my grandparents. My siblings and I were there from late June to September every year. We would be outside all day, every day. Any time we wandered indoors, we were promptly shooed outside again. We explored and played freely, took risks, and had full control over how we spent those long summer days. I believe this instilled in me a deep love and wonder of nature. And I am trying to do the same for my own kids. I remember the slowness of those summer days, the calm atmosphere, and an overall feeling of peace when I think back to those days.

My memories from the school year aren’t as nice. I mostly remember feeling stressed at a young age. Feeling pressure to perform and succeed. The pressure to keep up with the class. Getting in trouble for socializing with my classmates. On occasion, being humiliated and shamed in front of my peers for doing something wrong. Feeling tired at the end of each day, desperately wanting to relax or play, but feeling anxious knowing there was still homework to do (even though I had just spent the majority of my day in school). The days felt busy and rushed. My personal experience definitely plays into the reasons why I haven’t sent my own kids to school yet. I want a simpler childhood for them. I want them to be kids for as long as they can. The stress and pressure can wait. 

A couple of years ago, around the same time I started homeschooling my oldest, I committed to having my family spend time in nature on a regular basis. This means that even if it’s raining, or snowing, or cold, chances are that we’re spending a portion of our day outside. When we are in nature, our spirits are lifted. We feel so far from the worries of life. My kids are in their element here, and quite honestly, so am I. 

Our days have rhythm, but no rigid schedule. Most days are slow and unhurried. With this much free time, there is flexibility for my children to learn at their own pace. There is room in the day to learn purely out of interest, with no adult directed agenda. Right now it’s Ancient Egypt. I wonder how many months or years my daughter would have had to wait to learn about that in school? But here at home, she’s showing interest and so we’re diving deep. Libarary visits all the time. Lots of discussions over breakfast. I have time to answer every single question. 

No one loves them as much as I do, and no one else is as invested in their love of learning as I am. When they are grown, this quality time spent with them I will never regret.

I hope this gives a bit of insight into our choice. I intend to write much more about homeschooling and simple living in general. There is so much to share! πŸ’›

Thank you for following our journey!

Krista πŸ’›

  


This post is the first of many from the Inspired by Simplicity blog circle. We make up a community of like-minded bloggers who are passionate about living a more simple life. By following the circle, you’ll enjoy a variety of experiences, opinions, and ideas. Your next stop in the circle is the Our Homeschool House blog post! Enjoy your journey around the Inspired by Simplicity blog circle, and check back next week for our next topic. 





One thought on “Inspired by Simplicity.

  1. I’m so excited to read about your homeschool journey. I’m still on the fence about whether I want to homeschool my own, and I have several years before I have to make that decision, but I love gathering information in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

