a children’s seasonal bookshelf // SPRING

003001004006008005007009010011

The other day, we were walking home from the forest and the sun was shining down on our faces. The breeze was warm, not at all the bitter, cold wind we had grown accustomed to in the winter. It was beautiful out, and for the first time, it truly felt like spring. My daughter looked up at me and said “The lamb is out today!” and oh, it truly was. She was making a reference to the book we’d just taken out from the library, called In Like A Lion, Out Like A Lamb, where the lion and lamb take turns being in charge of the weather. The lion brings powerful winds and cold air, and the lamb of course is gentle and sweet, and brings with it warmth and sunshine.

We love seasonal books at our house. There is something so magical about reading a book, and then stepping out into nature and seeing it all around us. I’ve decided to start a ‘seasonal shelf’ where we’ll rotate the books as the seasons change. The kids and I have been reading lots, and I’ve gathered our favourites. I’m so excited to share them with you! Here’s a list of what we’ve been enjoying this spring:

Where Do They Go When It Rains?
by Gerda Muller
Up In The Garden, Down In The Dirt
by Kate Messner
The Carrot Seed by Ruth Krauss
A Nest Is Noisy by Dianna Hutts Aston
An Egg Is Quiet by Dianna Aston
Inch By Inch by Leo Lionni
And Then It’s Spring by Julie Fogliano
The Tale Of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter.
Spring by Gerda Muller
The Root Children by Sibylle von Olfers

Are there any books you think I’m missing?  I’m always looking to add to our collection, so I’d love to hear any suggestions you may have!

Happy reading!

Krista


One thought on “a children’s seasonal bookshelf // SPRING

  1. It’s a lil past early spring now, so I know I’m a little late! But thank you for the list!! I hadn’t heard of Dianna Aston before — what beautiful books!

Leave a Reply

