Strawberry Season

It’s strawberry season.


The other day, we went strawberry picking at a little family-owned organic farm by our house. It’s become quite the summer tradition for us to go berry picking, and it seems to always be one of the first things crossed off our mental “summer bucket list”. I’m glad my kids are able to join in this delightful summer activity! My mum and uncle were telling me the other day about their childhood experience with strawberry picking, which really, there was no experience at all. At that time, children weren’t allowed in the fields. They remember sitting and watching my grandmother do her berry picking in a hurry so she could get back to them. Lucky for my mum and uncle, they still got to reap the delicious fruits of my grandmother’s labor. As did I. My grandmother has a ton of berry recipes, and I practically grew up on a berry based diet (half kidding). Whether it was strawberry sauce, or jam, or cake, or rolls, I have vivid memories of smelling the delicious aroma of simmering strawberries, wafting out of my grandmother’s cottage window. Mmmm.

It’s so important to me that my kids know where their food comes from. There’s nothing quite like getting close to the source by picking your own berries, or growing your own vegetables. We started our own garden last summer and have expanded it this year.  The whole ‘grow food, not lawns’ movement really resonates with me, and it has me dreaming of a time before my own, when food was a bit ‘slower’. Why did ‘fast‘ food ever become the norm? We are longing to go back to our roots, and get back to the dirt, where it all begins. I want to get closer to my food. I want to know where it comes from. And my hope is that my kids will feel strongly about this as well.

At the strawberry farm, the kind and lovely farmer lady gave the kids a quick lesson on how to pick the best strawberries. “Look for the big, juicy red ones. Avoid the brownish ones, as they are past their prime.” And then my daughter chimed in “and don’t pick the green ones, because they’re still growing!”. Kind farmer lady was impressed.

This ain’t our first time berry picking, ma’am. 

We picked all the strawberries that we could fit into our baskets, and the kids stuffed their faces while we picked (with the farmer’s permission, of course!). Their lips and fingers were stained bright red by the end of our time there.

Oh how I love this sweet summer tradition. It’s a simple way for my family to connect to the earth, and get closer to where our food comes from. We are far from perfect, but one step at a time, we are getting closer to where we want to be.

How’s your summer going so far? ❤️

Krista Lii

 

 


Leave a Reply

